Laughter Working Daily Miracles

Honestly, sometimes nothing works better than laughter.  I’m by no means saying treat your depression with laughter, but if something situational is going on and you just can’t seem to get out of that ‘funk’, try asking the universe for something funny.  Anything.  And then open your eyes.

This morning I woke up to a particularly horrid feeling from a bad dream, and literally thought nothing could break my sadness.  So I started working, thinking about just how much the feeling sucked while understanding I just needed to sit through it and feel it.  I had to remember I was lucky to have such depth of feeling, and work to feel the pain throughout my body in a positive way. 

And then I looked outside.  I usually hear frolicking birds in the morning, chirping away, eating food or taking a drink from the bird bath. Squabbling about life, in their brilliant red and blue and orange attire.  Only today it was unusually quiet.

So as I sat pondering these feelings and trying to find something to open my mind, I noticed a little lump on the ground.  Directly under the bird feeder.  Only it moved a little.  A cat.

I’m not sure why I found this so hysterical. Possibly the irony of it?  It just seemed to me so hilarious, this cat cuddled up against the pole holding up the no-bird feeder.  Waiting patiently for some spacey fluttery morsel to come down, so preoccupied flirting with its love interest in the next tree, oblivious to the fate below.    It just made me laugh.   And laugh.  And laugh some more.

Before you know it, I was doubled over laughing at the silliness of it all, not caring who else thought it might be funny or worried that someone might see me acting like a crazy chick, crying one minute laughing the next.  I simply embraced the humor and its healing properties, and its ability to change our total perspective and focus.  And all I had to do was ask the universe for it.  And then open my eyes.  Thank goodness for laughter.

To read an interesting summary at about.com on the physical and psychological benefits of laughter, visit:  http://stress.about.com/od/stresshealth/a/laughter.htm

About ifredorg

The International Foundation for Research and Education on Depression (iFred), is a 501(c)3 organization dedicated to helping research the causes of depression, to support those dealing with depression, and to combat the stigma associated with depression. iFred is dedicated to Bringing Depression Hope.
This entry was posted in Animals, Health, Inspiration, Laughter, Research, Tips and Tools. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

